My Chapter 5 and Ideas

Okay, after going over this chapter and looking for mistakes I finally feel I can go on to the next chapter. Before I decide to rewrite and do more editing.

And then I will be saying oh boy, not again.

Okay, in this Chapter I wanted to spice up the scene with my main characters and her neighbors and to show that she have courage. As for my character description I may need to look over it again. Oh boy, I am thinking I need to put this chapter away and move to the next chapter.

Chapter 5: Confrontation (Now this title may change but never know with me.)

The five foot five, plumb, grayish/ brunette haired woman, in a stylish flower dress, were fuming. “Like I was telling Ray this afternoon,” the woman said in this smooth southern tone, “I saw a car down by the Peters’ home this afternoon.” Oh, I should have known . Stephanie recognized the older woman’s voice . “Are you sure, Helen?” the five foot four grayish blonde haired woman asked flatly. “Yes, I’m sure Alice.” she said irritated.

“Like I was telling Ray this afternoon,” the woman said in this smooth southern tone, “I saw a car down by the Peters’ home this afternoon.”

Oh, I should have known. Stephanie recognized the older woman’s voice .

“Are you sure, Helen?” the 5’4, grayish blonde haired woman asked flatly.

“Yes, I’m sure Alice.” she said irritated.
“Isn’t Tim with real estate?” Alice Millsom asked.
“Of course, he is.” Helen said bitterly with an icily glare towards her older sister by two years, “I’ve already asked him to check to see if it was on the market.”
That is why Helen Whitney grandson kept calling me in Valentines..
If she remembered right, Helen and husband, Ray Wheeler had approached her mother, Josette Pattersom to find another place to rent.

They demanded them to move out from here. Since everyone knew the Reynolds owned this property for years.
Until this day, she remember how her mother’s eyes turned this darkest brown by Helen Wheeler’s comment.But she did not get anger.That day they learned who owned what and to leave.(Okay, I wanted to give a little flash back to why this character felt the way she did.) 

“There must be an explanation for this!” Alice Millsom exclaimed furiously.
“Maybe Josette Peters and her sweet young daughter have returned,” an elderly woman said with this childlike gentle voice.

“I sure hope not!” Helen Wheeler exclaimed sarcastically. (I am debating on changing the sentence or keeping it.)
“Now Mary, don’t be a foolish child.” Alice said severely.
How could they be rude to dear Mrs. Mary Freds?
Mary Freds’ eyes narrowed towards them.
She should tell them off for once. Stephanie thought.
She has her reason but you will. A voice answered out of nowhere.
What? Stephanie blinked feeling the coldness now.
“Why are you so calm?” Helen Wheeler asked eyeing her sister suspiciously now.
“Oh, you remember the scene Josette made with our dear new Sheriff Troy Chase?” Alice asked bluntly, “Well, if she happens to be here, I’ll just bring it up and make a big scene.”
“Will this hurt Sheriff Chase career?”Mary asked with this disapproval glance towards the other women.
“Of course not.”Helen said, “You’re clever Alice.”
What are they saying? Puzzled now, her mother never told her this. A sinking feeling came over her.Is he the reason she left? Hmm, maybe he is the cause of her so-called accident.
No he is not! A female’s voice echoed in the back of her mind.
How can you be sure? A headache was coming.
“Patience child, you will know soon.”A male’s voice echoed in the back of her mind now.
I have to stop this gossip.With shoulder straight, she took a deep breath for reassurance, “Oh, pardon me,” she said in smooth southern accent, “I just had to come and say hello. Mary Freds smiled while Helen and Alice looked ready for battle with this intrusion.“Since,we last seen each other.”

“Do we know you?” Helen Whitney asked dryly.
“Why of course Mrs. Whitney.”she said respectfully. Even thought this woman never shown any to her nor her mother.She had a better idea. Her aunt once gave advice on getting rid of troublesome people.
“You must smother them with kindness, until they have no clue to what they are up against.” the older woman had said, “And you are a force to be wreckage with my dear child.”
“I think you are wrong,” she said in a snobbish matter of fact voice.“I would have remembered you.”
“I agree.”Alice said with her nose in the air..
Hmm.., They do not ever recognize me.
“ I am not mistaken.”she said ,“I went to school with your grandchildren, Mrs. Whitney.”
Something crept up Alice Millsom’s spine and a thought occurred.But she did not ponder on it.
“Who are you?” Helen asked annoyed.
“Let’s see your step-nephew Jake Bertrand is my best friend.” Stephanie said frankly.
You could have heard a pin drop from where they stood. Two young ladies were talking next to them glance their way.

In this sentence I wanted to put the surprise and make readers wonder what will happen next. 

And on to Chapter Six

 

2 thoughts on “My Chapter 5 and Ideas

  1. Pingback: My Chapter 8 and Ideas | Firefly's Journal

  2. Pingback: My Chapter 6 and Ideas | Firefly's Journal

Leave a Reply

