My Writing: A Short Dedication

Okay, this short little essay was posted a year ago, however, after reading the essay once more. I decided to add some photo shots to this short essay.

 

 A DEDICATION TO A RICE FARMER
Each morning and evening, he walks the quiet lonely rice fields, with his shovel over his shoulder.  Checking for overflows, leaks and runoff on the rice fields’ levees.
Those whom have known him says, he haven’t aged one bit, since the day they’ve first met him. Oh, he still wears his old straw cowboy hat, faded blue long sleeves shirt  and jeans.  Of course, he also still wears his green hip boots, for walking in the muddy water of the rice fields.
 Now a days he doesn’t speak to anyone, maybe to those whom seen him checking the rice fields, in the early morning hours,.
From what I’ve heard some have seen him walking, in the distance rice fields with his shovel over his shoulders. Some have even heard an old John Deere’s whistle at dust, while plowing away, in rice fields, that haven’t been planted in years.  
©V. ROSE DEMET ™2013
 

***Note***

May 26, would have been my Dad’s 84TH Birthday. These photo shots are  Dedicated to My Dear Old Dad, Raoul Demet. A True Cajun, Rice Farmer and Gardener with a green thumb for planting vegetable, flowers, and trees.

He worked in the rice fields for many years and had a green thumb for planting vegetables, roses and trees.

 

My Dad Checking A Pump For The Rice Field

My Dad Checking A Pump For The Rice Field

He never noticed when I took this photo shot of him. Until I got the roll of film developed. His comment was, “Oh, Verna Rose!” and shook his head.  He wasn’t one to get his photo taken.

(This was taken with a 110 Kodak camera, I know the photo shot isn’t that great. )

 

He was checking to make sure the pump would stay on all night long till morning.

 

(Here’s a little secret I never could across that plank to go on the other side which was a levee. Under those planks was and still is very deep ditch.)

He still never notice me with my camera. Here he was opening or closing a pipe that ran to the rice field on the left.

He still never notice me with my camera. Here he was opening or closing a pipe that ran to the rice field on the left.

I know this photo is very old and not in the best condition. My Dad’s school photo. Taken back in 1941, he was 10 years old.

Raoul T-Bee Demet At The Age Of 10 years old 1941..

Raoul T-Bee Demet At The Age Of 10 years old
1941..

 

 

Last but not least a photo shot of his favorite flower.  We like the same flowers.  🙂

Simple Beautiful...

Simple Beautiful…

3 thoughts on “My Writing: A Short Dedication

Leave a Reply

