My Writing: Chapter 11

Okay, To be honest this Chapter gave me a  headache, there were  a lot of rewriting. The third paragraph is still bugging  me but I’ll leave it alone for now.

Chapter 11: Dark Secrets
“Morganna, Joan, and  Brisen did something to bring an evil presence here.” Robin said in a sober tone then to me, “You’re the only one can see its’ presence, my dear child.”
What about Merlin? I wanted to ask but instead I asked “Are you effected by this spell, as well?” (I will have to rewrite this sentence.)
“I might be in different areas of this manor.” His eyes met mine, “Trust me, you do not want to know what I become.”
“When can we leave?” Merlin asked flatly.
I noticed he did not act surprised by Robin’s comment.
“Early dawn,” Robin said in a careful tone. “You can leave through the garden gate.”
“I will get our gears together.” Merlin said glancing my way.
Robin spoken careful and sincere; however, something flickered in his brown eyes. My hair on my arms raised up as a cold chill passed near my side. A faded image of a sleeping figure formed into my mind.  It took only a second to realize the truth.  Something dark and wicked filled the air, I glance towards the cobblestone wall near Robin.( I will be rewriting this paragraph, I want to show more and do less telling.)
 “I am feeling much better now, Earl Huntingdon.” I said, “I think I shall return to my chamber now.” Sliding off the bed, my feet touch the cold hard stone floor. “It was a pleasure meeting you.”
“This will keep you warm from the coldness, my dear.”
He handed a velvet green cloak, which hid a bow and arrow. In a  low whisper, “Be safe, dear child.” To Merlin, “See you in the morning for the wedding.”
His brown eyes spoken, Keep her safe or I will hunt you down.
Grr! A low growl was heard.
Merlin pulled me into his arms, “We will see you in the morning.”
Was that a growl. I wanted to turn
towards Robin, however his back was turned after from us, Merlin held me tightly. as we fled the chamber.
A minute later, we entered the bed chamber, where Lancelot, Bors and William sat with their head. They looked like their best friend had passed away.
“Hey, why the lone faces?” I asked, Merlin scorned, “Who died?”
Lancelot jumped from his chair and pulled me into his arms. “I am so sorry, Verona.” Giving me a bear hug. I could hardly breathe, “I should have followed you outside. Elaine
kept me from going to you.”
“Easy Lancelot, can you not see she is
turning pale.” Bors said coming up to me, “Is she alright?”
“Oh, I am sorry.” Lancelot released me. I
could not help notice Merlin sharp glare towards him now.
What Gwyn was not good enough for you? I silently thought bitterly. “I am, Okay.” I dared not to see Merlin reaction.
“No, she is not okay. I don’t call sleeping for a whole day and half the evening, Okay.” Merlin said soberly, “Someone tried to poison her.”
Say what! I shot a cold stare  towards Merlin. (I will reword this sentence also.)
“Who would do such thing?” Sir Bors asked flatly.
“I can think of two people, cousin.” Lancelot folded his arms.
“Is Lady Verona life endanger here?” William asked, his eyes went straight towards the green cloak in my hands. “Robin gave you those?”
“Yes, to both questions, Will.” Merlin said, “But he will not help us in any way now.”
“What do you mean?” Lancelot asked.I could see mix emotion from William and Merlin. Were they not going to tell him. 
You must tell him! A woman voice said.
“The enchantment is  very bad.” I said boldly, “Thanks, to Morganna, Duchess Joan and Brisen doing.”
Let them believe this, Verona. But there is more to this than meets the eyes. A voice answered in a distance.
“What are we to do, Merlin?” Sir Bors asked seriously.
“We must leave here later on tonight.”Merlin said soberly.
“Then we must get ready.” Sir Bors said boldly.
“I must see to Galahad and Elaine.” Lancelot said. My
hand stopped him from leaving. I  shook my head, No. I knew he could not follow, where we had to go. This cause a great pain within me. “No, only two must go there.” I felt a strong pull. an image of trees were surrounding me.
“You must find them!” Green eyes exclaimed.
Merlin’s hands covered my hands, I took a deep breath.( I will be adding  more details.)
“What does she mean by no?” Sir Bors asked glancing towards Merlin’s hand.
“You have to go into Sherwood Forest.” William said in a flat tone.
“Robin told us to enter Sherwood through the garden.” Merlin said, “It is not the safest way.”
“Then we must go with you, A- Merlin.”Lancelot said, “I will not say anything to Elaine or Gawain .”
“No Lancelot.” A tugging feeling came over me, “You must stay and protect your family members and my older brother Bors here.”
“My lady, you are such a sweet person.” Bors said hugging me, “Strange, it is feels like I’ve known known you all my life.”
A vision of a younger woman hugging him came to mind.  Maybe he did.  A tiny voice with a French accent echoed in my mind.
“I will show you another way to leave the manor,” William said guardedly. “But it is dangerous.”
“You’re talking about the dragon’s cavern.” Merlin said soberly,
“Yes,” William said in a sober tone.
“We will leave now.” Merlin said. 
“I thought we were leaving later on.” I asked puzzled.
“If Robin was as you seen him,” William said sadly, “He will inform the Duchess.” He took my hands and whispered, “Do not hate him nor me.” 
“I do not hate him or you, Uncle Will.” I whispered into his ears, then aloud, “I wonder, what I would have said to you,if we’ve met a few years back in Sherwood Forest?”
“Hmm, maybe we did, my lady.”
William said with a wink, he turned towards Merlin n, “Safe journey my friend
and keep this young one safe.”
“Farewell, my friends.” Lancelot said taking my hand he raise it to his lips.
I saw another place my friend Melanie was introducing me to her fiance, who looked similar to Lancelot. The images vanished quickly,  I had to give him my ring.
“Lancelot take this to remember me,” I said, taken my ring off, which had two little diamonds around a turquoise stone. “You can even give it to Lady Elaine as a wedding present.”
“Hmm, that’s a good idea.” he said with a smile. “You would have made a great cousin,Verona.”
“You and Bors, as well.” I noticed Merlin frown. Why was he jealous?
“William, where is this secret passageway?” Merlin asked soberly.
“You have to go through the great hall, on your right.” William said, “You better take good care of her, A-Merlin.”

 

Okay, I wanted to make this Chapter more intriguing with a little twist and more clues on Verona’s past.  Now, I am heading to the next Chapter before I decide to rewrite the second to last paragraph again.

 

 

Have a wonderful weekend.  🙂

 

 

 

 
2 thoughts on “My Writing: Chapter 11

  1. You are certainly brave Firefly. To me the hardest part is dialogue, especially when there are more than two characters speaking. You have accomplished a lot in this chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

